A Fan’s Guide To Redskins History

admin |  | 09 4th, 2011  |  Comments Off

When eccentric businessman, George Marshall, wanted to expand upon his thriving chain of Laundromats and delve into something more expansive, football, he believed, was his destination. In 1932, his wish was granted when the NFL awarded Marshall a Boston-based franchise.

The club, originally called the Braves, lost money in its premiere season and, promptly, moved from Braves Field to the confines of Fenway Park. It was there that the Braves renamed and took on the moniker of “Redskins.’

In 1936, the Redskins won the Eastern Division and hosted Green Bay in the NFL Championship game. Citing poor attendance and a unsupportive fan base, Marshall moved the franchise to New York and finally, to Washington in 1937. That season, the Redskins would go on to win their first NFL Championship. They would, again, claim the title in 1942 and a third in 1972.

In 1944, the franchise became the first to have its own radio broadcast and, topping their own ingenuity in 1950, their own television network. It was for this reason that many fans around the nation who were not fortunate enough to live in the vicinity of a NFL franchise adopted the Redskins as their illegitimate team.

In 1961, D.C. Stadium became the franchise’s new home, which they remained until 1996. A year later, they moved into their new surroundings at the newly-built Fedex Field. In 1968, the team began a consecutive sellout streak at their new surroundings which continue today. This is the longest sellout streak of any team in NFL history.

Since that time, during the NFL’s modern era, the Redskins have participated in several playoff births, under the guidance of some the football’s greatest coaches, including Vince Lombardi, George Allen and Joe Gibbs. Under these legendary coaches, the Washington Redskins would recapture glory with three Super Bowl victories.